The Lower Wind River Conservation District is one of 34 in Wyoming and three in Fremont County. The District was formed on June 16, 1969 when the Pavillion and Wind River Conservation Districts were merged. Our district encompasses nearly 2 million acres including the communities of Pavillion, Kinnear, Riverton, Shoshoni, Moneta, Lysite and Lost Cabin. The Midvale Irrigation District (a United States Bureau of Reclamation project) as well as the two privately owned irrigation districts (LeClair and Riverton Valley) operate within this conservation district.

We are the local voice for natural resource conservation matters. We are members of the Wyoming Association of Conservation Districts (state voice) and the National Association of Conservation Districts (national voice). We work closely with the Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS), a federal agency. This group provides technical assistance to us and people in our district. We are located in the USDA Service Center at 508 North Broadway Avenue. There are four agencies located in the USDA Service Center.

– Lower Wind River Conservation District
– Natural Resources Conservation Service (local and West area office)
– Farm Service Agency
– Rural Development

The Lower Wind River Conservation District is operated by a five-member Board of Supervisors whose members are elected by the citizens living within the boundaries of the District. Members serve four-year, staggered terms without pay. Three of the five supervisors represent the rural areas of our district while one represents the urban areas and one serves as an at-large representative. There is one employee of the District who manages the books, applies for grants and plans and carries out projects authorized by the Board of Supervisors. The District offers all programs and services on a non-discriminatory basis without regard to color, national origin, sex, religion, age, disability, political beliefs or marital and familial status.

The Lower Wind River Conservation District Board of Supervisors appreciates the support of our citizens by passing the mill levy in November of 2016.  We will be preparing our budget for 2017-2018 and welcome input from citizens in the district for projects and activities.  The proposed budget will be available for public comment in July.  Other sources of funding are the Wyoming Department of Agriculture, Fremont County Commissioners, soil reviews for proposed subdivisions, seedling tree and shrub sales and grants.